Whenever you remove personal files, it’s often gone to live in the Trash Can to ensure that you are able to restore the file later if required. For details about recuperating personal files, see Recover files in the Trash Can.
To permanently remove files out of your computer and reclaim any hard disk drive space these were using, you have to remove the files in the Trash Can. You are able to remove individual files in the Trash Can or empty the whole Trash Can at the same time.
- Open the Recycle Bin by double-clicking the Recycle Bin on the desktop.
- Do one of the following:
- To permanently delete one file, click it, press Delete, and then click Yes.
- To delete all of the files, on the toolbar, click Empty the Recycle Bin, and then click Yes.
How to Delete Permanently Files From Your Computer
You are able to empty the Trash Can without having to open it by right-clicking the Trash Can after which clicking Empty Recycle Bin.
You are able to permanently remove personal files out of your computer without delivering it towards the Recycle Bin by clicking the file and then pressing Shift+Delete.